- Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death among children ages 1 to 19.
- Children ages 2 to 5 who use safety belts prematurely are four times more likely to suffer a serious head injury in a crash than those in child safety seats or booster seats.
- Of those children ages 12 and under who died in vehicle crashes in 2011, 31 percent were unrestrained
- Children should ride in the back seat until they are at least 13 years old.
For car seat tips please visit http://www.safekids.org/tip/car-seat-tips.
SK3R has four certified child passenger safety technicians who are available for inspection and installation of car seats, by appointment, year round in both English and Spanish for a $10 installation fee. The technician’s main role is an educator.
The technicians are responsible for:
- the inspection of the safety seat
- instruction to the parent or caregiver on how to properly install the seat and secure the child
- And deciding when it is appropriate to replace a safety seat
Once the education is complete, the caregiver then installs the child safety seat in the vehicle with limited assistance from the technician and secures the child in the safety seat. Child safety is the main priority of 3RPHD’s car seat program, and every child that leaves the inspection station or car seat event should leave safer than they arrived.
3RPHD also collects recalled, expired, or otherwise damaged safety seats from the community for recycling at a recycling center.
New car seats are available at no cost for qualified families.
Visit http://www.nhtsa.gov/ChildSafety/Guidance for help deciding which safety seat is appropriate for your child.
To find an inspection station near you visit http://www.safercar.gov/cpsApp/cps/index.htm.
For questions about the Nebraska child passenger restraint law, visit http://www.transportation.nebraska.gov/nohs/cps.html#Nebraska_Child_Restraint_Law.